Northeastern BC

Dane-Zaa (ᑕᓀ ᖚ)

Dene K’e



Fort Nelson First Nation

The Fort Nelson First Nation is "...comprised of 14 major families. Historical Chief, Jimmie Badine, and Headman, Tommy Whitehead, signed an adhesion to Treaty 8 in August 1910. There are 10 reserves, including Fort Nelson IR #2, Maxhamish Lake, Francois, Moose Lake, Fontas River, Kahntah River, and Snake River. The total land base for the FNFN Reserves is 9556.5 hectares. The Fort Nelson First Nation is located 7km south of the Town of Fort Nelson in the northeastern corner of British Columbia. The community is located at Mile 293-295 on the Alaska Highway."[[1031]]

West Moberly First Nations

The West Moberly First Nations was originally part of the Hudson Hope Band, which split into West Moberly and Halfway River Bands in 1977. West Moberly First Nations is covered by Treaty 8. [[1031]]

Tsay Keh Dene

The Tsay Keh Dene speak Tsek'ene and have their main community at the northern end of the Williston Lake reservoir. The Tsay Keh's traditional territory spans north to Mt. Trace, west to South Pass Peak, south to the Nation River, and east to Mount Laurier.[[Territorial information copied from BC Treaty Commission website:]]

Saulteau First Nations

In the 1870s one group of Anishnaubemowin (Saulteau) migrated westward from Manitoba following their leader's vision. Their journey ended at Moberly Lake, where they settled and later intermarried with the Nēhiyawēwin (Cree) and Dane-Zaa (Beaver) who were already living in the area[[source:]].


Subscribe to RSS - Northeastern BC